Basic Principles of Clearing and Imaging Biological Tissues | Virtual Seminar

2018-10-12


Date: October 25, 2018
Time: 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST
Price: FREE


Biological specimens are intrinsically three dimensional. Therefore, to fully understand their structure and function they are optimally imaged and viewed in this manner. However, because of the obscuring effects of light scatter, imaging deep into a tissue volume is problematic. Light microscopes were historically used to image individual cells or thinly sectioned tissue. Modern day confocal and multi-photon technologies extend the imageable volume to a few hundred micrometres but are still limited by light scatter. Efforts to eliminate light scatter by “clearing” tissue have been ongoing for over a century and have rapidly increased and expanded in recent years. Along with advances in imaging technology, tissue clearing can now allow for volume imaging over centimeters of depth.

This webcast will:
∙ Introduce the physical basis for light scatter in tissue
∙ Describe the mechanism underlying clearing techniques
∙ Discuss several of the major advances in light microscopy for imaging cleared tissue


Unable to join the live event? Watch on-demand. Register now to ensure that you receive information on how to gain access after the live event.

Speakers

  • Dr. Doug Richardson, Harvard University
  • Dr. Doug Richardson, Harvard University
    Doug received his PhD in the field of cancer cell biology followed by post-doctoral studies in super-resolution microscopy. Since 2013, Doug has been the Director of Imaging at the Harvard Center for Biological Imaging and a Lecturer in Harvard’s Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology since 2016.
  • Dr. Doug Richardson, Harvard University
  • Moderator: Dr Jayshan Carpen, Nature Research
    Jayshan received his Ph.D. in neurogenetics from the University of Surrey, UK. His doctoral thesis focused on identifying polymorphisms associated with diurnal preference and circadian sleep disorders. Jayshan worked as an events coordinator at the Royal Institution of Great Britain before moving to his current role in 2013 for Nature Publishing Group (NPG).
list